Basic Question

I’m pretty new to Bro and am just trying to understand how to go about getting events programmatically from the sensor (10.0.0.1). Here’s my test scenario.

I see entries constantly being added to the ssl.log file. Since this is a pretty busy file, I decide to try to register an event handler (using ipython) to capture those events on a separate system (using the python interface):

from broccoli import *
bc = Connection(“10.0.0.1:47760”)

@event
def ssl_conn_attempt(connection, version, ciphers):
print connection, version, ciphers

while True:
bc.processInput()

But I never see my callback triggered even though I see constant activity in the ssl.log file. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance!
Justin

Where did you get this event from? That is an old event that was removed prior to the 2.0 release. You can refer to the following link for all of our current (2.1 release) analyzer generated events:
  http://bro-ids.org/documentation/scripts/base/event.bif.html

Are you running Bro with BroControl in standalone mode too? If you run a cluster and you only connect to your manager you won't see these events either because the protocol events aren't being generated on the manager. It looks like you're doing the right things in your python script though.

.Seth

From here: http://www-old.bro-ids.org/wiki/index.php/Reference_Manual:_Analyzers_and_Events

I guess the “old” in the URL should have tipped me off. I had some trouble finding descriptions of built-in events, so I just grabbed the first thing that looked reasonable. I’ll look over the document you linked below. I did try using the “new_connection” event with similar results (i.e., none), so your comment on the cluster configuration may also be a sticking point for me.