Developing my own writer driver

Dear all,

I’m brand new to bro (just found out about it and tried yesterday) and I’m very intrigued by its capabilities.

The documentation says we can write outputs into databases BUT, as I got to the logging framework documentation, it seems the only “non file based” writer driver available is for sqlite.

I’m really interested in using a server based SQL instance (like postgresql, mysql or mariadb) AND a NoSQL service (mongodb or couchdb).

Are there any other writer drivers available (even if they are not officially supported / are part of non committed contributions)?

If not, can someone give me some pointers on how to develop extra writer drivers?

Thank you,
Luis Silva

There is a prototype of a postgresql writer in one a branch. However, it
is seriously outdated and will not compile with current Bro versions -- it
was either based on 2.2 or 2.1. And even for old bro versions it was
barely functional.

The best way to learn how to write logging writers is probably to take
a look at the already existing ones - they are mostly decapsulated from
Bro and quite easy to write.

Johanna

Hi Luis,
I had a similar requirement a while back and took a different approach
to get my data into Postgres by importing the output from the default
text writer. This was largely to keep things as simple as possible on
the sensor side.

See https://github.com/j-o-h-n-g/Mortimer/blob/master/broimport.py

The code is quite dirty in places, but might give you some ideas for
possible bro<->postgres type mappings.

John

Thanks John, that is very useful, though I was trying to avoid using an external import script as that will introduce a delay between the time the events happen and the registers get added to the DB.

Also, based on my experience, it can be pretty expensive to run an import script that parses through the data and translates it into insert calls.