Field value missing

Greetings all,

I am new to Bro, and I hope you can help me.

I read the following documentation:
https://www.bro.org/sphinx-git/frameworks/notice.html

Exactly, this part of the code:

hook Notice::policy(n: Notice::Info)
{
if
( n$note == SSH::Password_Guessing && n$id$resp_h == 10.0.0.1
)
add n$actions[Notice::ACTION_EMAIL];
}

And write it in the file …/local.bro

But, when I generate an attack to IP (10.0.0.1), and I got an error: “field value missing [n$id]” .

I use bro -i eth0 local to debug logs in live

I did many changes, also I use “$id?$resp_h” to check errors, and i got the same error. I am sorry but I am new with Bro and I would like to know How can I fix that?.

Thank you
Javier

Sorry, the documentation here is out of date. The SSH::Password_Guessing notice now seems able to track a guesser across multiple servers, so in order to check if they attempted a certain server, you’d have to inspect the value of n$sub to see if it’s mentioned there. E.g.:

hook Notice::policy(n: Notice::Info)
    {
    if ( n$note == SSH::Password_Guessing && /10\.0\.0\.1/ in n$sub )
        add n$actions[Notice::ACTION_EMAIL];
    }

- Jon

Javier,

To add to what Jon said…

In this case you’re hitting a situation where not all Notices are created equal.

I believe, for SSH::Password_Guessing, the connection ‘id’ itself isn’t populated, so the n$id isn’t there to reference n$id$resp_h from. It will have an n$src if you wanted the originator, but for recipient you need to look at the notice subject (see Jon’s message). The recipients listed there are a sampled set.

-Dop

Hi,

Thank you for your answers, clarify part of my doubt. I got successful results using the two methods:

e.g.,

if (n$note == SSH::Password_Guessing && \11.1.1.7/ in n$sub)
print fmt (“testing1”);

or

if (n$note == SSH::Password_Guessing && n$src = )
print fmt (“testing2”);

I also saw logs notice.log and I understand because I get these values (sub, src).