surgical file extraction

Good day all,

I am new to creating custom bro scripts, so please bear with me.

I am looking to perform file extraction only on HTTP conversations to either a specific URL or destination IP address. I have some command and control traffic POST traffic that I want to capture with bro, as opposed to what I am using now. I am currently having to run TCPDumps on my sensors for traffic destined to a specific IP, then manually cut out the POST requests, redo the pcap, then run it through bro… tedious.

Here is what I have, but cant get it to work (mainly due to a lack of bro script knowledge):

global mime_to_ext: table[string] of string = {

[“text/plain”] = “txt”,

[“text/html”] = “html”,

};

Event file_sniff(f: fa_file, meta: fa_metadata)

{

if ( f$source != “HTTP” )

return;

if ( meta$rx_hosts != “123.123.123.123” )

return;

if ( ! meta?$mime_type )

return;

if ( meta$mime_type !in mime_to_ext )

return;

local fname = fmt("%s-%s.%s", f$source, f$id, mime_to_ext[meta$mime_type]);

print fmt(“Extracting file %s”, fname);

Files::add_analyzer(f, Files::ANALYZER_EXTRACT, [$extract_filename=fname]);

}

I get the warning that the meta$rx_hosts isn’t valid. I have tried a “redef record” statement, but it made it much worse. Am I even in the ballpark here? I wasnt sure if I needed to use some other means to identify the URL, then start file extraction.

Appreciate any help.

You’re close! The field rx_hosts doesn’t exist in the meta record. If you want to get the destination IP, then you can do something similar to the first example on this page: https://www.bro.org/sphinx-git/frameworks/file-analysis.html

In your event, you’d do something like this …

for ( cid in f$conns )
{
if ( f$conns[cid]$id$resp_h == 123.123.123.123 )
{
print “found IP 123.123.123.123”;
}
}

This should get you started: http://try.bro.org/#/trybro/saved/27817

Josh

Josh,