Creating a module and accessing an event in another script

Hi all,

I am new to Zeek and would like some help with writing a module and accessing the events in another script.

I created a module called SSHAttempt under /usr/local/bro/share/bro/site and set up the module with local.zeek and main.zeek.

I created a custom log stream based on the result derived from ssh_auth_result in SSHAttempt/main.zeek. I also exported the SSH::Info record as log_sshattempt from main.zeek.

I can see the notice.log when running with sshquess.pcap. However if I try to access the event that has been exported from SSHAttempt/main.zeek inside another script (test.zeek) then I am getting the error that the record values are not initialised. I was expecting auth_fail variable inside SSHAttempt::Info record to be initialised when running .pcap.

Please find all the necessary files for reference. Any help would be much appreciated. :slight_smile:

Kind regards,
Merril

local.zeek|attachment (12 Bytes)

main.zeek (1.95 KB)

test.zeek (205 Bytes)

Hi all,

I figured out why it wasn’t working. I was trying to print rec. newbie mistake. :slight_smile:

But the notice email action does not work though. It generates notice.log but does not email. Any silly mistakes anyone can see?

Kind regards,
Merril.

Are you running against a pcap? emails are not sent when reading pcap files. You should still see ACTION_EMAIL in the actions field in the notice.log.

I created a module called SSHAttempt under /usr/local/bro/share/bro/site and set up the module with __local__.zeek and main.zeek.

The magic filename for loading directories is "__load__.zeek", not
"__local__.zeek".

However if I try to access the event that has been exported from SSHAttempt/main.zeek inside another script (test.zeek) then I am getting the error that the record values are not initialised. I was expecting auth_fail variable inside SSHAttempt::Info record to be initialised when running .pcap.