Internal error - type does not have a visitor

Hello there. I’m new to zeek and to coding in general.
What does that error mean?

[internal-error] t104.spicy:740:12-743:2: codegen: type T104::QOS does not have a visitor

The code that caused the error :

type QOS = bitfield(8) {
    ql : 0..6; 
    se : 7;  
};

I suspect the error message you are seeing also mentions that this is an internal-error somewhere. In general internal-errors are probably due to Spicy bugs.

The concrete issue you are seeing here is

A possible workaround is to wrap your bitfield type declaration in a unit similar to what I described in the issue, e.g.,

type QOS = unit {
	x: bitfield(8) {
		ql: 0..6;
		se: 7;
	};
} &convert=self.x;

The trick here is that a unit allows us to introduce a new name for a parsing construct, but we can remove that extra level of indirection again with &convert=self.x.

@Benjamin_Bannier
Thanks a lot for your helpful and quick responses!

Now I got the next error:

fatal error: error during compilation: <Spicy Plugin for Zeek>: JIT compilation failed

What could cause that error?

Is this the full output you are seeing?

Yes, only that one line

This would mean that the C++ compiler which we start to JIT code returned an error, but gave no output.

One scenario where that could happen is if the compiler was killed by the OS since it ran out of available RAM. You could force Spicy to use at most a single C++ compiler process by setting the in your environment export HILTI_JIT_PARALLELISM=1, see 6. Toolchain — Spicy v1.6.0-dev.147.

I added 3gb ram to VM(4bg total) this time and tried to run zeek again. Now it’s the same error but with the termination message:

c++: fatal error: Killed signal terminated program cc1plus
compilation terminated.
fatal error: error during compilation: <Spicy Plugin for Zeek>: JIT compilation failed