Installation issues on Kali linux

Hi there, I am new to Zeek and I was following a Udemy course on threat hunting.
However, I am unable to install Zeek on my fresh Kali 2022.3.

I tried the following steps

1. Installing Zeek — Book of Zeek (git/master)

2. Building from Source > Required Dependencies > Copy and paste the command for DEB/Debian-based Linux

3. sudo apt install zeek -y

It keeps saying the following:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
zeek-core : Depends: libc6 (< 2.32) but 2.34-4 is to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

How do I solve it?? Thanks in advance!

However, I am unable to install Zeek on my fresh Kali 2022.3.

I tried the following steps

1. Installing Zeek — Book of Zeek (git/master)
  2. Building from Source > Required Dependencies > Copy and paste the command for DEB/Debian-based Linux
  3. sudo apt install zeek -y

You are mixing two things here, building from source (1 & 2) and installing prebuilt binary packages (3).

Kali 2022.3 seems have an outdated zeek-3.2.3 in its binary package repo for installation with apt. There is e.g., no package zeek-core in its repo, so I suspect you added another repo which contains the broken binary package which you cannot install. You could try to remove that repo (have a look at /etc/apt/sources.list and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/), and retry installation of Kali’s zeek package, but like I wrote, that version is outdated and not supported anymore.

Alternatively, skip step 3 above, and instead continue with the instructions for building from source from the Zeek documentation.

2 Likes

Same as mine too - I kept getting the problem 'E: Unmet dependencies.'libc6 (2.34) is required, however, 2.34-4 must be installed. I attempted an apt fix-broken install. I tried Sudo apt-get -f install to force the installation.

I attempted to upgrade or install a new package, but it is still not working. In all circumstances, I receive the same error messages.